Andean Mountain Grasslands bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 82,848
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 5
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 45%
    Protection Target
  • 4
    Protection Level

The Andean Mountain Grasslands bioregion, located in the Southern America (Neotropical) realm, is centered on the Altiplano, the world’s second highest plateau. It stretches from central Argentina to central Peru and is composed entirely of high-altitude grasslands. The bioregion contains five ecoregions – Central Andean Dry Puna (587), Central Andean Puna (588), Central Andean Wet Puna (589), High Monte (592), Southern Andean Steppe (595) – and incorporates Lake Titicaca, the largest lake in South America and one of the world’s highest bodies of water. The area of this bioregion is nearly 83 million hectares.

The Andean Mountain Grasslands bioregion is part of the Andes & Pacific Coast subrealm and is made up of five ecoregions: (1) Southern Andean Steppe (2) High Monte (3) Central Andean Puna (4) Central Andean Dry Puna (5) Central Andean Wet Puna. 

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Southern America. Visit the Project Marketplace to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about each of the Andean Mountain Grasslands ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!