Canadian Tundra bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 259,506
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 5
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 79%
    Protection Target
  • 1
    Protection Level

The Canadian Tundra bioregion, located in the Subarctic America (Nearctic) realm, encompasses the entirety of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago and the northernmost lands of the North American continent. It is entirely made up of tundra with five ecoregions – Canadian High Arctic Tundra (412), Canadian Low Arctic Tundra (413), Canadian Middle Arctic Tundra (414), Davis Highlands Tundra (415), Torngat Mountain Tundra (421) – including adjacent marine areas. The total land area of this bioregion is approximately 260 million hectares. 

The Canadian Tundra bioregion is part of the Canadian Tundra subrealm and is made up of five ecoregions: (1) Canadian Low Arctic Tundra (2) Canadian Middle Arctic Tundra (3) Canadian High Arctic Tundra (4) Davis Highlands Tundra (5) Torngat Mountain Tundra. 

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Subarctic America. Visit the Project Marketplace to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about each of the Canadian Tundra ecoregions below.

The One Earth Newsletter provides an overview of the latest climate science that showcases innovative projects and environmental news stories from around the world, led by individuals and organizations who are making the vision of a green, resilient future a reality.

Discover the Global Safety Net

The first global-scale analysis of land areas requiring protection to solve the twin crises of biodiversity loss and climate change, upholding and strengthening Indigenous land rights.