Lord Howe & Norfolk Islands bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 6
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 2
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 99%
    Protection Target
  • 5
    Protection Level

The Lord Howe & Norfolk bioregion, located in the New Zealand subrealm, is situated between Australia and New Zealand in the Tasman Sea. This small group of islands is dominated by subtropical forests and is designated as its own marine province. The bioregion contains two ecoregions—Lord Howe Island Subtropical Forests [142] and Norfolk Island Subtropical Forests [147]. 

The Lord Howe & Norfolk Islands bioregion is part of the New Zealand subrealm and is made up of two ecoregions: Lord Howe Island Subtropical Forests [1], Norfolk Island Subtropical Forests [2]. 

Learn more about each of the ​Lord Howe & Norfolk Islands ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!