North Alaskan Tundra Bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 33,930
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 3
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 96%
    Protection Target
  • 4
    Protection Level

The northern section of the Alaska subrealm, located in the Subarctic America (Nearctic) realm, is delineated by the Brooks Range. The North Alaskan Tundra bioregion is entirely made up of three tundra ecoregions—Arctic Coastal Tundra (407), Arctic Foothills Tundra (408), Brooks-British Range Tundra (411)—including the adjacent marine areas of the Beaufort and Chukchi seas. The total land area of this bioregion is 34 million hectares. 

The North Alaskan Tundra bioregion is part of the Alaska subrealm and is made up of three ecoregions: (1) Arctic Coastal Tundra (2) Arctic Foothills Tundra (3) Brooks-British Range Tundra.

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Subarctic America. Visit the Project Marketplace to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about each of the North Alaskan Tundra ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!