Northern Amazonian Forests bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 105,232
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 5
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 93%
    Protection Target
  • 6
    Protection Level

The Northern Amazonian bioregion is located in the Amazonia subrealm in the Southern America (Neotropical) realm. It lies between the Amazon River and the Guiana Shield and includes the Rio Negro, the principal northern tributary of the Amazon. The bioregion consists entirely of moist tropical forests, containing five ecoregions—Gurupa Várzea (467), Japurá-Solimões-Negro Moist Forests (473), Negro-Branco Moist Forests (484), Rio Negro Campinarana (498), Uatumã-Trombetas Moist Forests (511)—as well as the largest biological reserve in Brazil. The total area of this bioregion is approximately 105 million hectares.

The Northern Amazonian Forests bioregion is part of the Amazonia subrealm and is made up of five ecoregions: (1) Negro-Branco Moist Forests (2) Japurá-Solimões-Negro Moist Forests (3) Rio Negro Campinarana (4) Uatumã-Trombetas Moist Forests (5) Gurupa Várzea.

Learn more about each of the Northern Amazonian Forests ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!