Solomon Islands bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 3,593
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 1
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 89%
    Protection Target
  • 0
    Protection Level

The Solomon Islands bioregion, located in the Australasia realm, is an archipelago of six major islands and hundreds of minor islands and islets in the Solomon Sea, just above the Coral Sea. It is the central grouping of islands in Melanesia. These islands, totaling approximately 3.5 million hectares of land, are dominated by one ecoregion – Solomon Islands Rain Forests [1] – and are known for a diversity of plant life, including more than 230 species of orchid. This bioregion contains several active volcanoes.

The Solomon Islands bioregion is part of the Australasian Islands & Eastern Indonesia subrealm and is made up of one ecoregion: Solomon Islands Rain Forests [1].

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Australasia. Visit the Project Marketplace ​to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about the ​Solomon Islands ecoregion below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!