South African Cape Shrublands & Mountain Forests bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 17,833
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 5
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 31%
    Protection Target
  • 5
    Protection Level

The South African Cape is the only Mediterranean bioregion in the Afrotropics realm. It is confined to the small southern coastline of the continent and incorporates the succulent Karoo ecoregion, which is tightly interlinked with the dominant shrublands. The bioregion, located in the Southern Afrotropics subrealm, contains five ecoregions—Knysna-Amatole Montane Forests (15), Albany Thickets (88), Fynbos Shrubland (89), Renosterveld Shrubland (90), Succulent Karoo Xeric Shrublands (110)—and adjacent marine areas. It is an area of extraordinarily high plant diversity and endemism that includes the Cape Floristic Region, one of only 7 floral kingdoms in the world, with over 9000 plant species, two-thirds of which are endemic. The total land area of this bioregion is nearly 18 million hectares.

The South African Cape Shrublands & Mountain Forests bioregion is part of the Southern Afrotropics subrealm and is made up of five ecoregions: Renosterveld Shrubland [1], Fynbos Shrubland [2], Succulent Karoo Xeric Shrublands [3], Knysna-Amatole Montane Forests [4], Albany Thickets [5].

Learn more about each of the Central South African Cape Shrublands & Mountain Forests ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Sign up to receive monthly updates about our work. 

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!