Antarctic Peninsula & Scotia Sea Bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • N/A
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 2
    Number of Ecoregions
  • N/A
    Protection Target
  • N/A
    Protection Level

The Antarctic Peninsula bioregion protrudes 1,300 km from West Antarctica towards the Tierra del Fuego, the southernmost tip of South America. The rocky coasts of the peninsula have the mildest climate in Antarctica and are free of snow in the summer months, supporting an abundance of land and marine biodiversity. The bioregion contains two tundra ecoregions –  Scotia Sea Islands Tundra [1], South Orkney Islands Tundra [2] – including the Scotia Sea, Orkney Islands, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands.

The Antarctic Peninsula & Scotia Sea bioregion is part of the Antarctic Continent & Islands subrealm and is made up of two ecoregions:  Scotia Sea Islands Tundra [1], South Orkney Islands Tundra [2].

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Antarctica. Visit the Project Marketplace to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about each of the Antarctic Peninsula & Scotia Sea ecoregions below.

Sign up for our Newsletter

We feature fascinating species, inspiring climate heroes, and impactful projects from around the world led by individuals and community organizations who are making the vision of a green, resilient future a reality.

Explore the Global Safety Net

Explore the Global Safety Net

The Global Safety Net (GSN) is the first global-scale analysis of land areas requiring protection to solve the twin crises of biodiversity loss and climate change, upholding and strengthening Indigenous land rights.

Explore The GSN