Coral Sea & New Caledonia Islands bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 1,902
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 2
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 76%
    Protection Target
  • 7
    Protection Level

The Coral Sea bioregion, located in the Australasia realm, extends from the Great Barrier Reef to the New Caledonia Islands, encompassing most of the Coral Sea and sharing much of the reef’s rich biodiversity. The New Caledonia islands are mostly covered in tropical rainforest, with dry forests along the main island’s west coast. The bioregion has two ecoregions – New Caledonia Dry Forests [1], New Caledonia Rain Forests [2] – with a total land area of nearly 2 million hectares.

The Coral Sea & New Caledonia Islands bioregion is part of the Australasian Islands & Eastern Indonesia subrealm and is made up of two ecoregions: New Caledonia Dry Forests [1], New Caledonia Rain Forests [2]. 

One Earth is dedicated to mobilizing philanthropic capital to protect the ecosystems and peoples of Australasia. Visit the Project Marketplace​ ​to explore projects in this realm that need your support. Learn more about each of the ​Coral Sea & New Caledonia Islands ecoregions below.

Sign up for our Newsletter

We feature fascinating species, inspiring climate heroes, and impactful projects from around the world led by individuals and community organizations who are making the vision of a green, resilient future a reality.

Explore the Global Safety Net

Explore the Global Safety Net

The Global Safety Net (GSN) is the first global-scale analysis of land areas requiring protection to solve the twin crises of biodiversity loss and climate change, upholding and strengthening Indigenous land rights.

Explore The GSN