East Eurasian Coastal Tundra bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 78,187
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 3
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 92%
    Protection Target
  • 1
    Protection Level

The East Eurasian Coastal Tundra bioregion is located in the Subarctic Eurasia realm (northern Palearctic) and contains three ecoregions—Chukchi Peninsula Tundra (772), Russian Bering Tundra (779), Wrangel Island Arctic Desert (783)—totaling approximately 78 million hectares of land area. 

The East Eurasian Coastal Tundra bioregion is part of the Sea of Okhotsk & Bearing Tundra/Taiga subrealm and is made up of three ecoregions: (1) Russian Bering Tundra (2) Chukchi Peninsula Tundra (3) Wrangel Island Arctic Desert. 

Learn more about each of the East Eurasian Coastal Tundra ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!