West African Coastal Forests & Savanna bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 114,038
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 7
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 22%
    Protection Target
  • 8
    Protection Level

The West African Coastal Forests & Savanna bioregion, located in the Equatorial Afrotropics subrealm, consists of tropical coastal forests and mangroves as well as Guinean mountain forests and forest-savanna. With seven ecoregions—Eastern Guinean Forests (11), Guinean Montane Forests (14), Western Guinean Lowland Forests (30), Guinean Forest-Savanna (44), Jos Plateau Forest-Grassland (82), Central African Mangroves (111), Guinean Mangroves (113)—it has a land area more than 113 million hectares, not including mangroves or adjacent marine areas. The Guinean forests are considered to be a biodiversity hotspot with over 9,000 species, 20% of which are endemic to the region. 

The West African Coastal Forests & Savanna bioregion is part of the Equatorial Afrotropics subrealm and is made up of seven ecoregions: Guinean Forest-Savanna [1], Guinean Montane Forests [2], Western Guinean Lowland Forests [3], Eastern Guinean Forests [4], Jos Plateau Forest-Grassland [5], Guinean Mangroves [6], Central African Mangroves [7].

Learn more about each of the ​West African Coastal Forests & Savanna ecoregions below.

Join the One Earth Community

Subscribe to receive monthly updates on climate solutions, environmental heroes, and the profound beauty and wonder of our shared planet Earth.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!