Nominate innovators for the 15th Equator Prize championing Nature for Climate Action

Image credit: Courtesy of the Equator Initiative

Nominate innovators for the 15th Equator Prize championing Nature for Climate Action

Under the overarching theme of "Nature for Climate Action," this 15th cycle of the Equator Prize will recognize and celebrate initiatives led by Indigenous Peoples and local communities, which offer impactful climate solutions, restore and sustainably manage nature and biodiversity, and advocate for actions promoting a green and circular economy.

The ten Equator Prize winners will be announced on the International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples. They will join a prestigious network of 285 innovative community-based organizations from 89 countries who have won the prize since 2002.

The 15th Equator Prize Award Ceremony is scheduled to be held in the last quarter of 2024. Each prize-winning organization will receive $10,000 and will be supported to participate in a series of policy dialogues and special events in the fall of 2024.

Under the theme of "Nature for Climate Action," winning initiatives will be honored in the three categories below. Special consideration will be given to nominees championing youth and women-led climate action:

Nature for Climate Mitigation

Initiatives protecting, conserving, and restoring forests, mangroves, peatlands, soils, oceans, and marine ecosystems.

Nature for Climate Adaptation and Resilience

Efforts integrating nature into planning for water and food security, building climate-resilient food systems, and developing regenerative agriculture and forestry practices resulting in disaster risk reduction, enhanced livelihoods, and community resilience.

Nature for a Just Transition

Actions leading to a green, zero-carbon economy that is inclusive and creates decent work opportunities. Local actions that harness the circular economy reduce the need for resource extraction and minimize pressure on wildlife, thus bringing a global shift in consumption and production patterns.

Nominations are open until February 26th, 2024. To learn more about the requirements and nomination process and to submit your nominations, click the button below.

Submit Nominations