Subarctic Eurasia

Subarctic Eurasia covers most of the land mass of Russia and the Nordic countries – Iceland, Norway, Sweden, and Finland – and makes up the northern section of one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms – the Palearctic – containing 8 bioregions in total. This realm division consists entirely of boreal forests, taiga, and tundra. There are four tundra regions in the north that coincide with the Arctic Circle, including the western coast of Scandinavia. Just below the Arctic Circle are four very large bioregions consisting primarily of boreal forest, including Siberia and the Ural Mountains. The bioregion associated with Sakhalin Island and the Sea of Okhotsk is particularly important for biodiversity, with dense old-growth forests and one of the most biodiverse marine regions in the world, a feeding ground for four whale species, seals, and abundant fish populations.

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.