Western Eurasia

Western Eurasia covers most of Europe and is the westernmost section of the Palearctic -- one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms – with 13 bioregions in total. This realm division consists predominately of temperate broadleaf forests, spanning from Great Britain & Ireland to the western edge of the Caspian Sea. It also includes the Pontic grasslands of Southern Russia & Ukraine. In the south, three bioregions span the length of the Mediterranean Sea – from Spain, Italy, and Greece to western Turkey, Lebanon, and Israel. Off the west coast of the Iberian Peninsula is one additional bioregion surrounding the Azores islands.

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.