Seychelles & Comoros Tropical Islands bioregion

The bioregion’s land area is provided in units of 1,000 hectares. The protection goal is the combined Global Safety Net (GSN1) areas for the component ecoregions. The protection level indicates the percentage of the GSN goal that is currently protected on a scale of 0-10. N/A means data is not available at this time.

  • 254
    Total Land Area (1000 ha)
  • 3
    Number of Ecoregions
  • 94%
    Protection Target
  • 2
    Protection Level

The Seychelles & Comoros bioregion, located in the Afrotropical realm, consists of two archipelagos of islands in the Indian Ocean north of Madagascar. The Seychelles group in the east is dominated by granitic tropical broadleaf forest with over 75 endemic plant species, including the rare jellyfish tree. The Comoros group in the west, just off the coast of Mozambique, is dominated by dense tropical forests. Altogether, the bioregion contains three ecoregions—Comoros Forests [4], Aldabra Island Xeric Scrub [91], Granitic Seychelles Forests [13]—covering an area of approximately 250,000 hectares, not including reefs and adjacent marine areas.

The Seychelles & Comoros Tropical Islands bioregion is part of the Madagascar & Eastern Afrotropics subrealm and is made up of three ecoregions: Comoros Forests [1], Aldabra Island Xeric Scrub [2], Granitic Seychelles Forests [3].

Learn more about each of the Seychelles & Comoros Tropical Islands ecoregions below.

Sign up for our Newsletter

We feature fascinating species, inspiring climate heroes, and impactful projects from around the world led by individuals and community organizations who are making the vision of a green, resilient future a reality.

Explore the Bioregions

Want to learn more about the fascinating species, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders of the Earth? Click the button below to launch One Earth's interactive navigator and discover your Bioregion!