Central America

Central America is the upper section of one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms – the Neotropical – with 6 bioregions in total. There are 4 main bioregions running the length of the tapering isthmus, which separates the Pacific Ocean to the west from the Caribbean Sea to the east. The southernmost of these bioregions, associated with the Isthmus of Panama, extends into Colombia to include its adjoining coastal forests. The chain of Caribbean islands makes up one entire bioregion, which includes the flooded grasslands and mangroves of southern Florida. A small group of subtropical islands below the Baja Peninsula make up the final bioregion in this realm division.

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.