Subarctic America

Subarctic America covers most of Canada and Alaska and is the northern section of one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms – the Nearctic – containing 9 bioregions in total. This realm division consists almost entirely of boreal forests, taiga, and tundra. There are 3 tundra regions in the north that coincide with the Arctic Circle, including the large island of Greenland. Just below the Arctic Circle are 5 bioregions consisting primarily of boreal forest, including the Canadian Shield forests. The bioregion associated with the Gulf of Alaska is particularly important for biodiversity, a combination of temperate conifer forests and coastal ice fields, which are home to grizzly bears, wolves, puffins, salmon, and orca whales. 

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.