The Australian continent dominates this realm -- one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms -- with 15 bioregions in total. Australia itself has 9 bioregions, the largest of which contains its vast interior deserts. To the south is a coastal Mediterranean woodland bioregion and to the north is a large expanse of tropical savannas. To the east are temperate grasslands and coastal forests. The realm also includes the islands of New Zealand, Tasmania, Papua, Sulawesi, and other Indonesian islands east of the Makassar Strait and south of the Java Sea. It also includes the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, and New Caledonia. With its seven seas and immense coral reefs, Australasia is one of the most important realms for ocean biodiversity. The Great Barrier Reef, considered one of the Seven Natural Wonders, is the world’s largest coral reef system, composed of over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands stretching for more than 2,300 kilometers. 

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.