Southern America

Southern America covers most of the Neotropical realm -- one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms – with 23 bioregions in total. At the heart of this realm are the Amazon Basin rainforests, grouped into 5 major bioregions (central, north, south, east, and west). The Andes Mountains form the western edge of the Amazon Basin, extending from the very top of the continent all the way to the end of the subtropical zone (central Argentina). Immediately to the west of the Andes is a series of 4 bioregions that run the length of the Pacific coast – from dry tropical forests and coastal deserts in the north, to Mediterranean woodlands and temperate coastal forests in the south. Grasslands cover the majority of the continent’s interior, with forests dominating the continent’s Atlantic coast, both above and below the Amazon region. At the very top of the continent are two unique bioregions spanning the Caribbean coastline and the Llanos tropical grasslands below it. In addition to the mainland bioregions, Southern America has two pacific island bioregions – the Galapagos and Juan Fernández Islands. 

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.