The Afrotropics, corresponding roughly with Sub-Saharan Africa, make up one of the world’s eight major biogeographical realms and contain 24 bioregions in total. The realm consists largely of tropical, subtropical and montane grasslands, shrublands & savannas, divided into northern and southern sections by the equatorial forest zone. The southern section has 3 bioregions, which includes the Serengeti, host to one of the largest mammal migrations in the world. The northern section has 6 bioregions with the Sahel Acacia Savannas spanning the entire width of the continent. The equatorial forest zone has 5 bioregions, including the Congolian tropical forests. The East African Coastal Forests span most of the continent’s length, and in the west, there are 2 desert-shrubland bioregions, including the Karoo & Kalahari drylands. The southern tip of Africa is a Mediterranean biome, one of the most biodiverse floristic regions in the world with over 9,000 endemic plant species. In addition to Madagascar, Africa has 6 other island bioregions, including the Cape Verde Islands in the northwest. 

Projects that require funding are identified for each bioregion on the map below. Click a number icon to open the associated project listings.